“I Put My New Shoes…

23 Apr

…and suddenly, everything is right!” So, for the past month I’ve been going through new shoe hell. My shins started to hurt in mid-March and I assumed it was time for new shoes, so I went to Road Runner Sports to get professionally fitted. I was told by the salesperson that the first pair (men’s Asics, I don’t remember the model) I was given was a neutral-plus shoe for my high arches. I took them on a short test run and was nearly crying with pain. I felt like I was running with bricks on my feet. I took them back and replaced them with the Brooks Ravenna, which were better but still not the right fit. Last night, I took the Brooks back and I think I finally found my new shoe love. I’m now the proud owner of Asics GT-2160.

Shiny new kicks!

I took them on a short spin on the treadmill this afternoon and they felt amazing! I also found out why the first pair of shoes made me want to collapse with pain. The shoes I had been told were neutral-plus, we’re actually motion control shoes and a size too big.

I also bought some super awesome hot pink compression socks, which I might have slept in last night.

H-A-W-T

I know, know I look so cool in these babies, you don’t need to tell me.

After growing sick of running with my ginormous iPhone strapped to my arm, a la this picture.

I'm running so slowly cos of this friggin' brick strapped to my arm

I went to the Apple store today and bought a green iPod shuffle. My thumb is bigger than this thing.

I've seen ants bigger than this thing!

It looks like it should cost pennies and I just shelled out $50 for it, and then the Apple guy kept trying to push me into purchasing two-year protection for the low, low price of $39.99. That’s almost as much as the Shuffle itself, or you nuts? When I told him for the hundredth time that no, I did not want his ridiculous expensive insurance I asked if I could just take the Shuffle to the check-out and pay and he said, “Oh, I’ll just check you out right here”, and proceeded to use an iPhone to process my debit card payment. For some reason this totally freaked me out and I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to the Apple store. Until I can afford an iPad that is.

On the fitness front, I went to Vinyasa yoga this morning and loved it! It was my first class but I will absolutely be going back next week. I also ran a mile on the treadmill to test out the new Asics and swam for 20 minutes in my gym’s infinity pool, which I am still trying to get used to.

I’m off to ice my shins, lay out my gear for tomorrow and have a panic attack about running ten miles. Here’s to not dying on tomorrow’s run!

Leave a Reply

