Speed Workouts That Fail

30 Apr

I’m out of town this weekend for a much needed break, so I’m going to keep this post short and sweet, even though there’s a lot to catch up on!

Wednesday morning I went to vinyasa in the morning. One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to start attending yoga more regularly, specifically 1-2 times per week. I completely failed at this until last week. I went to a vinyasa class at my gym twice in one week. I’ve struggled to find a type of yoga that I enjoy. Bikram is wonderful, but really takes a lot out of me and so is difficult to practice regularly.

Vinyasa is the perfect fit so far. It moves quickly enough that I don’t get distracted, can focus on my practice and feel like I’m getting a great work-out. But I also feel like a get a much needed stretch. And rumor has it that yoga is great for your running!

I planned to do a speed workout Wednesday afternoon or night, but the weather in DC, as it has in much of the country, has been crazy the past few days. I kept pushing it back and pushing it back and suddenly it was 8 PM and I just did not have it in me anymore. So, I post-poned until Thursday.

Thursday, I went out with the intention of completing the following: 1-mile easy warm-up, then 4 x 1/2 miles hard, with 1/2 mile recovery in-between, then a 1/2 mile cool down. I got through two 1/2 mile pick-ups before I had to pack it in. My shins were killing me. I ran/walked to the three mile marker and then walked another 5 minutes for a cool down. I won’t lie this failed speed-workout really bothered me. I felt really strong heading out for this run, and my legs had had two full days off from running. My shin splints had been feeling better, but I’m starting to think I might need to see a sports doc about ways to improve the pain. Anyone else dealt with shin splints before? Any recommendations?

This is how gangstas deal with shin pain

After work I hit the gym to do some intervals on the bike. I had way too much excess energy to burn and was procrastinating going home to pack for my weekend trip. I HATE packing, more than anything on this earth. Except spiders. I would literally pay people to pack for me. I felt great on the bike and went hard. I was dripping in sweat by the end and felt terribly for whoever had to sit next to me on the metro. Sorry! Usually I look and smell beautiful, but sometimes you have to pay a price for endurance sports.

I was hoping to fit in some form of exercise today, but between an early morning wake-up call, two flights and time changes. It just didn’t happen. I’m off to enjoy my weekend, but I’ll try to post an update at some point, and there will definitely be a long, whining, curse-filled post about the 12-miler I have planned.

Leave a Reply

