Frustratingly Frustrated

22 May

Tonight sucked. Epically. I ran a small 8K to benefit Back on My Feet and the Wounded Warrior Project (both great charities!). It should have been easy, fun and generally enjoyable. Instead it hurt, sucked, and was not in the least enjoyable. My right knee, which was swollen and achy during and at the end of the half last Sunday, felt much better by Tuesday. On Thursday I ran over 3 miles at a great pace with no pain.

But, a mile into today’s race and my knee was on fire. It stayed that way for the ENTIRE race. By the time I finished the race (it felt like it took forever to complete), I was in an ugly mood.

One unhappy runner

I drove home and made a couple of stops on the way. One for pizza, one for Baskin Robbins ice cream. And one for this:

Beer!

No I do not know how to share

And these:

wine

Clean-up in aisle four

The mini-pity party I hosted in my living room tonight helped but it didn’t solve the problem. I am frustratingly frustrated.

It seems like every time things start to go well running-wise some new super-fun injury crops up.

After my 8-miler in mid-March I was plagued with shin splints for weeks. After battling shin splints almost to the end of my half-marathon training, things finally seemed to turn around in the last few weeks. Then after the half it was my knee.

It seems like I have three options: one, stupidly keep training and hope the pain goes away. Two, try to find a good doctor, hopefully a fellow a runner, to try to pinpoint the issues and fix them. Three, take a break from running.

Even I don’t think option one is a good plan and I can be pretty idiotic sometimes. I don’t like option three much and given that the season has kicked-off for Team in Training, taking a break from running could be a little difficult. If I have to I will, but I would really prefer not to. So, it looks like option two is my best bet. I’m just nervous, because I’ve hear horror stories from runner friends who have gone to a doctor and the docs have told them that the only thing they can do to fix the problem is quit running.

Don't worry, this won't hurt a bit...

For those of you in the DC area any doctor recommendations? Any suggestions about how I keep from going stir-crazy while dealing with injuries?

8 Responses to “Frustratingly Frustrated”

  1. Victoria (District Chocoholic) May 22, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    Do you pool run at all? It works for some runners.

    • feetoffancy May 22, 2011 at 3:05 am #

      I’ve never tried it, but I’ve heard good things about it. The gym I belong to only has infinity pools (basically x-large bathtubs) so I haven’t given it a shot, but I’m willing to try anything at this point!

  2. Peter Smith May 22, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Shin Splits. Arrgh.

    I’m so lucky that at our University we have a great sport science programme, and a pretty darn good sport science clinic. They do a lot of the medicine for our elites here. So I got some good advice which had me back in the fray two months later and fully recovered (with legs that are stronger than ever, and fitness at a higher level too).

    …. and that was pool running (but don’t take my advice, find a good sports medical centre, as it might be something else).

    • feetoffancy May 23, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      That’s awesome that you have access to such good sports clinic! Pool running has been a popular recommendation. I’m going to go see a doc first, but I’m betting pool running is in my future.

      P.S. I have family that lives in Auckland. I’ve only been to NZ once, but I loved it, beautiful country.

  3. Dawn May 22, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    My suggestion is to see if your insurance will let you go directly to a physical therapist without getting a doctor’s referral (some programs do, some don’t). It sounds like the doctor will most likely tell you to take a break from running or to go see a PT. If you can, might as well save yourself an appointment 🙂

    Pool running is also a good alternative to keep training while giving your knee a break. I’ve found it to be less boring than treadmill running, since I’m actually moving and can people watch while in the pool. If you do this, go for time, not distance (since the distance you go will end up being pretty much meaningless). You may also want to give the elliptical a try – depending on what’s going on with your knee, it might be another way for you to train without aggravating it.

    I hope it starts to improve for you soon! Injuries are no fun.

    • feetoffancy May 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      Thanks for the great advice! I’ll look into what my insurance company offers. I’ll be on the elliptical this week, most likely. Though I’m not a huge fan of it, I tend to get bored. But I’ll bring some good music and a few magazines and make it work!

      For pool running how long should I run for? 30 mins?

  4. amyreinink May 22, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Dr. Dan Pereles in Kensington, Md. He’s a former Navy SEAL, former college swimmer, marathoner, triathlete, etc, etc. Basically my entire running group goes to him. He’s helped me through a few little running injuries, so when I tore my ACL (thanks to a snowboarder slamming into me from behind last January), I jumped through all sorts of hoops to make sure he was the one to surgically rebuild it. I was swimming within days, running within six weeks, and generally leaps and bounds beyond others with the same injury—mainly because of him. Clearly, I can’t say enough good things about him!

    • feetoffancy May 23, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      He sounds like a perfect fit. I really want to see a doc who is also an athlete or ex-athlete. So glad everything healed properly after you tore your ACL! I snowboard too, and it can be brutal when other people on the mountain don’t know what they’re doing.

Leave a Reply

