Work It Out Wednesday

26 May

I finally got my haircut after six months. Yesterday I looked like this:

Somedays it doesn't pay to get out of bed

Now I look like this!

Much better!

Improvement? Well, it’s hard to improve on perfection, but I tried.

I’m terrible about getting my haircut. It’s naturally curly and grows really fast so I should get haircuts fairly frequently but I do not. I knew it was time for a haircut though because I had worn my hair up for the past month.

Today is the inaugural day of Work It Out Wednesday! So, here we go. I would love for you guys to share your workouts to. What days do you look forward to? Yoga, running, Zumba?

The Work-Outs

There’s been a lot of variety in my workouts this week. But variety is the spice of life, right? Plus, it means I look forward to my workouts!

There was some of this:

Awkward Eagle Pose

A bit of this:

Hittin' the weights

A little of that:

RUN!

And a dash of this:

Why yes, I would love to accept the award for World's Best Fish Face

Please don’t mock my ability to make an awesome fish face. It’s the only true talent I possess.

Here’s the breakdown of the week’s workouts:

Wed- Vinyasa class, 1 hour

Thu- 3.25 mile run, 30 minutes

Fri- Spin class, 30 mins; BodyPump 40 mins

Sat- Horrible 8K race 😦

Sun- Rest

Mon- 10 mins elliptical; 30 mins weight-lifting; Spin class, 1 hour

Tue- 1 mile run, 12 mins; Swim, 20 mins; Core workout 10 mins

Wed- Vinyasa class, 1 hour; 2.5 mile buddy run in 30ish minutes, I was having some Garmin issues (thanks A DC Running Novice for joining me!)

Technically, I should be tapering as I’m hoping to run the Alexandria half on Sunday, but when I looked back at my work-outs I haven’t done a great job of tapering. Oh well, I’ve been feeling good and there’s still Thursday, Friday and Saturday to rest.

Taper time hasn’t made me as crazy this time around, thank goodness. That may have something to do with the fact that I’m only two weeks out from my first and only half-marathon and I raced last Saturday (even if it was the worst race ever run in the history of racing).

Last week, especially Saturday, was rough. My knee hurt, I felt sluggish and tired and generally not thrilled with life. I was supposed to have my first Team-in-Training group run on Saturday,  3-miler, but I had a meeting for my weekend job that I had to attend and so couldn’t make it. I did attend the information session on running basics and injuries. Even though I knew a lot of the advice the discussed, I was glad they hosted it and glad to go. Team-in-Training participants come from all kinds of athletic backgrounds and there were several newbie runners in our group, so it was important to talk about the basics of running before we get into the season.

I was cranky Sunday because of Saturday’s hideous race, but my Monday I was ready to get back to it. I felt great while lifting weights, I’m feeling so much stronger. 3 months in, and I can definitely see improvements. My swimming seems to be improving to. Tuesday’s swim felt great, and I finally nailed the breath, stroke, kick coordination. I also took some advice from active.com and tried to “roll like an otter” when I turn to breathe. Instead of just turning your head, you turn your whole body and then back down. It really helped me once I got the hang of it.

I’ll probably swim tomorrow and maybe lift. Friday I’ll go to vinyasa class and Saturday will be a full rest day outside of some foam rolling. I’m still hoping to run Alexandria on Sunday, but we’ll see what happens.

Questions

What are you favorite workouts?

How do you handle racing disappointments?

2 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday”

  1. Victoria (District Chocoholic) May 26, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    Curly hair is the best. Have you seen http://www.naturallycurly.com/ ?

    The only things that might be better than curly hair are weightlifting and swimming.

    • feetoffancy May 26, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      The website is so cool! I’d never heard of it before. I especially love the frizz forecast.

      Swimming and weightlifting might just beat out curly hair. But chocolate wins over them all 🙂

Leave a Reply

