Happy National Running Day!

2 Jun

Today is National Running Day, but I didn’t run today. Yes, I do feel badly. Since Sunday’s half I’ve been feeling a bit unmotivated. I was planning to run after work today, but then it was supposed to storm, so I bagged it. Normally I would have gone home and hit the treadmill or done something, but I just felt blah.

I did lift weights and bike for a few minutes today, but I feel like I’m slowly getting sucked back into a vicious cycle. The less I work-out, the worse I feel and the more likely I am to skip my next work-out. Any suggestions for digging out of a rut?

In an attempt to motivate myself to get back into a routine tomorrow and to celebrate National Running Day here are five reasons everyone should run:

1) You get to look like a bad-ass in race photos. Please see the below picture and note that this is the closest I will ever get to looking like a bad-ass.

Basically, I'm Chuck Norris

2) You have a completely legitimate excuse to carbo-load and that includes beer. Seriously, spectators along the Marine Corps Half course were handing out Coronas to runners.

Quick! There's only 30 seconds before the race start!

3) People think you are awesome and/or hardcore. For some reason, non-runners think running is ridiculously hard (it is) and impossible to do (sometimes it is). Every time I talk to someone about upcoming races or marathon training I get the same reaction, “That’s amazing! I could never run that far!” Even though I believe everyone can run and run far sometimes it’s nice to feel awesome just for doing something you enjoy.

It sure does...

4) Runners are the coolest people you will ever meet. They are a friendly, welcoming, awesome lot. They are all aware of how crazy they are and how crazy they’re sport is, and they embrace it and love it. Trust me you will have so much fun with other runners at races, on long runs, etc. It’s so easy to find a local group. Check out your local running store or DailyMile or any number of other sources. Feel free to tweet me and I’ll be happy to talk to you forever and a day about running!

5) There is no feeling in the world like lacing up your running shoes and going out for an incredible run. The feeling is impossible to describe unless you are a runner, but when you get that first high from an awesome run, you’ll never forget it.

So what are you waiting for? Don’t sit around, get out there and run!

4 Responses to “Happy National Running Day!”

  1. Victoria (District Chocoholic) June 2, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Workout slumps require workout friends to break.

  2. feetoffancy June 2, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    You wouldn’t happen to be looking for a new workout buddy? I’m so jealous of your swimming abilities!

    • Victoria (District Chocoholic) June 2, 2011 at 1:45 am #

      Maybe for running after my twisted ankle is better (me and a sidewalk curb had a misunderstanding). I’m a bad runner, though.

      • feetoffancy June 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

        I’ve had many a misunderstanding with sidewalk curbs, and stairs, and lines painted on the ground. I’m not a very good runner, I just try to hide that fact. Hope the ankle heals quickly!

Leave a Reply

