Work It Out Wednesday

2 Jun

This week was kind of lacking in workouts as Saturday was a total rest day and the only exercise I did on Monday and Tuesday was a few leisurely laps in the pool. I need to get back on track, but I’m going to be in NYC this weekend, so in all honesty I don’t think things will be back to normal until next week.

The NYC trip will also mean I likely have to drop out of Sunday’s 10K, part of the North Face Endurance Challenge series. I was planning to attend the races on both days, but I don’t think I’ll even make the 10K now. We’ll see. If I miss Sunday’s race, it will be the first race I have ever dropped. If I do drop out of Sunday’s race, I know I’m going to have to work hard to prevent myself from falling into a true exercise rut. My motivation is at a low-point and I need to find a way to pick it back, especially with Team-in-Training’s marathon training getting into full swing.

Here’s the breakdown for this week:

Wednesday– Vinyasa class, 1 hour; 2.5 mile run

Thursday– Weights, 30 mins; Swimming, 5 mins, I planned to swim for 30 but got booted out by a trainer and trainee after 5 minutes

Friday– Swimming, 30 mins; Ab stuff, 15 mins

Saturday– Rest

Sunday– Alexandria Half-Marathon!

Monday– Rest (played in the pool for an hour)

Tuesday– Rest

Wednesday– Bike, 10 mins; Weights, 25 mins; Ab stuff, 15 mins (I’m going to write a post about my top 5 favorite ab moves, core fitness is especially important for runners!)

A very blah week. I need to draw up a real plan and stick to it. Maybe it’s time for a couple of work-out challenges?

Weight-Lifting

On a side note for any seasoned lifters out there, I’m trying to create a more structured weight-lifting plan that can be incorporated into my marathon training plan. I’d like to do the New Rules of Lifting for Woman, but I suspect the plan requires more dedication than I can devote while training for my first marathon. Any suggestions on some structured lifting plans?

2 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday”

  1. Dawn June 2, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    I think the New Rules of Lifting plan would be perfect. The workouts are very time efficient (20-30 minutes, tops) and while the book prefers you do them 3 times a week, it bascially says, “Do them in this order, how ever many times a week you can.” So you could always adjust your weight days to 1 or 2 per week.

    Also, the book encourages you to push yourself to lift heavier weights, but as your running mileage increases, you could always opt to do the same exercises, but with a bit less weight if your legs need the break.

    The program really is a great, efficient, full-body weight workout. I’d say go for it.

    • feetoffancy June 6, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

      I think I’ll give NROLFW a shot then! I can certainly handle two lifting sessions a week, and maybe even three of I plan accordingly. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

