A Lesson in Stress Management

9 Jun

Something you should know about me: I like to be busy. I function much better when I constantly have things to do and places to go and people to see. When life gets slow I’m too easily distracted and get nothing done. Plus, when I’m busy I feel important and beloved by my many, many subjects.

You will bow before me!

Something else you should know: I tend not to recognize that I have taken too much on until everything blows up in my face. It’s a bad, bad habit.

Well, my lovelies, things are blowing up. The past couple months I’ve taken on a bunch of stuff and it’s all starting to hit. Work is a chaotic mess. My apartment hasn’t been cleaned in weeks days. And the worst part, I’m starting to struggle to fit in my beloved running time, which is my biggest stress reliever.

Between two jobs, marathon training, attempting to train for a triathlon (triathlon training has sort of fallen apart), and having some semblance of a life, things are getting a little bit ridiculous over here. The other night I had a dream that I was running on a treadmill at my day job and swimming at the bar at my restaurant job. Yeah, it’s getting weird up in here.

You are so wise Garfield...

Usually, when this happens I freak out, have a small (ok massive meltdown), spend a couple days in crazytown, attempt to deal with everything that is happening and then move on.

But I’m trying to improve my stress management abilities. I’m trying to avoid having a massive meltdown and spending time in crazytown.

I won't be taking any lessons from you Mel Gibson.

On top of everything else, I’m beginning to stress a bit about my Team-in-Training fundraising. When I signed up for it, many moons ago, October seemed so. far. away. I had plenty of time to raise the $1,500. But now, I’m feeling a few twinges of nerves about raising that much money by October. I was already stressing about the training, and adding in the stress of fundraising will probably make me go gray. Thank the high heavens for hair-dye.

I was doing well with kicking my butt out of bed early in the morning and getting my work out in and my day going. But all this week my alarm has gone off at 6 AM and I have promptly set the snooze button. Many, many times. All I feel like doing is sitting in my pjs, eating ice cream and cereal and watching trashy tv.

So, it’s time to put my big-girl panties on, take a lesson in stress management, and manage this mess. And maybe also have a glass of wine to ease the pain…

Questions:

Any suggestions for managing stress?

What do you do when things get out of control? Run? Eat? Drink? Break things?

6 Responses to “A Lesson in Stress Management”

  1. Victoria (District Chocoholic) June 10, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    Ummmmmmmmmm bake/workout. Break things. I always suggest “klonopin” because I think that is funny, but nobody else seems to think I am funny.

    Seriously, though, hauling my behind out of bed to workout every morning helps more than I could ever explain. Put your alarm clock across the room and turn on a light right away. Going back to sleep won’t seem as appealing.

    • feetoffancy June 10, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

      Ok, so I took your advice and it totally worked. Turning a light on and setting my alarm across the room made it much easier to get out of bed and stay out of bed. Stubbing my big toe also helped.

      And I love your suggestion of klonopin and breaking things, but I have an awkward sense of humor so I may not be the best judge.

  2. Jess (In My Healthy Opinion) June 10, 2011 at 1:12 am #

    I always, always just want to sit around when I’m super busy and stressed. Since that’s not really productive, I make to-do lists and shorter workouts. At least it’s something! I also bake and probably shop too much! 🙂

    • feetoffancy June 10, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      To-do lists are one of my all-time favorite things. In the whole wide world. Lists in general. If you put something in list form I will read it. I’m a big stress baker. You can always tell when things are really bad because my whole kitchen will be covered in baked goods. My friends benefit though, so at least someone is happy!

  3. Erin @ Big Girl Feats June 10, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    I’ve just gotten into the workout in the AM thing because I could never pry my eyes open before 7am, but I’ve been good about it the past few days and – WOAH. I never realized how happy it would make me. Like, frighteningly peppy. So that’s a good motivating factor to manage the stress. I also think taking time each day, even for 10 minutes, to do something I WANT to do vs. I have to do is so helpful. I tell myself I’m making that choice to watch tv, lay down on the couch, breathe, read, whatever. That helps too. Hang in there!

    • feetoffancy June 10, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

      I got up early and worked out this morning and I completely agree with you. I felt so much better! And I could not agree more, taking the time to do something you want is so important. Although, sometimes all I want to do is lie down on the couch and nap for three hours 🙂

Leave a Reply

