Work It Out Wednesday

9 Jun

Bah. It’s been another fail of week in terms of solid work-outs. Things have been busy and a lot of my plans have changed/fallen through at the last minute.

But, the good news is I went to the gym today, felt great, worked hard, and have a solid plan for the rest of the week. Any obstacle that gets in between me and my upcoming workouts better be prepared to get ninja-kicked in the face!

Here’s this week’s recap:

Wednesday– 10mins biking (2.5 miles); 25 mins weightlifting; 15mins abs stuff

Thursday- 4.5mile run in 50 minutes. I tested out the new running skirt on this run. I really like it, at least for shorter runs. It’s cute!

Say hi Lincoln!

Do you know what isn’t cute though. Me + heat + running.

This is my attractive face

I’m not sure the running skirt would work on long runs or races because of, ahem, chafing issues, but for shorter runs or races it’s great.

Friday– 75 mins of spinning with the world’s toughest spin instructor. She’s Swedish, I would not mess with her. Those Swedes will kick your bootay

And drink your blood too!

Saturday– Rest. Some walking.

Sunday– Rest (and recover from a wee bit of drinking). Lots of walking

Monday– Almost a rest day, then managed to squeeze in a 2.5 mile run with 30 tricep dips on a park bench to boot!

Tuesday– Accidental rest day. I should have done my workout in the morning, but stupidly planned it for lunch. I forgot there was a big lunch meeting and I wouldn’t be able to sneak off to the gym. Well, no big deal. I figured I could just move my workout to the evening. Well, I quickly remembered why I don’t work out at night. Once I get home I turn into the world’s biggest bum. Seriously, I couldn’t even bring myself to do laundry last night, and I have no clothes left to wear. If I don’t do laundry tonight I’m going to have start implementing the smell test, and that’s just embarrassing.

I also walked home from the metro yesterday. Given how hot it was, I’m pretty sure I lost 10 pounds.

I kind of felt like hugging my air conditioner too

I also felt badly right before going to bed, so I tried to make up for my lack of exercise by doing some ab stuff. I tired myself out after 10 mins and called it quits.

Wednesday– Finally a real workout! 10mins elliptical warm-up; 25 mins of weightlifting; 10mins of swimming.

I plan to swim some more when I get home. And then probably I should do laundry. Probably…

Maybe this is way my laundry never gets done...

I’ve planned my workouts for the rest of the week, so fingers crossed that I stay on track and there are no more derailments. I’m also going to attempt to bike to work tomorrow because my hatred of the DC subway system is running at an all-time high.

6 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday”

  1. happytalesblog June 9, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    Heyyyy girl! So I am totally being a stalker b/c i saw your post on FB that you’re looking for a roommate for HLS… and I currently have a room with 2 other girls (so 3 including me) and we’re looking for a 4th! Let me know if you’d be interested 🙂 PS. you can find more about me on happytalesblog.com … i promise i’m not scary and i’m pretty sure the other girls are dollfaces, too! (carly @ carlybananas.wordpress.com and jess @ inmyhealthyopinion.com are the other two girls, just in case you’re interested!)

    • feetoffancy June 9, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Yayzies! Thanks for following up! I would definitely be interested. It seems like a great chance to make some fun new friends. I’ll DM on twitter with my email address.

  2. gary huff June 9, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    really seems so busy to get anything done

    • feetoffancy June 9, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

      It’s pretty busy around here at the moment, but I’m trying to focus and make sure I get my training done.

  3. Erin @ Big Girl Feats June 9, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    I totally hear you on the hugging the air conditioning thing. Ugh! Good for you for getting those workouts in any way, shape or form. I try not to beat myself up too much if I miss one, but my old habits try to creep in there sometimes. But something is better than nothing! And an email is coming your way NOW! 🙂

    • feetoffancy June 9, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

      Ugh, I know. It’s been way too hot the past few days. Hopefully storms this weekend will bring the temps down a little but. I don’t usually get frustrated until I miss 2 or 3 days in a row but then I’ll start to feel tired and cranky. But I try not to get upset about a day here or there (as an ex-athlete it’s difficult sometimes). Can’t wait for the e-mail!

Leave a Reply

