Weather, Please Never Change

16 Jun

There are a few things I truly love about DC. There are a few things that I don’t mind about DC. And there are a few things I hate about DC.

One of the (many) things I hate is DC summers. It’s hot. It’s humid. It’s sticky. It’s gross. Last week was the epitome of DC summer and I was miserable. I couldn’t drink hot coffee (tear), and I had to take my workouts indoors.

But the weather gods have smiled upon us this week. It’s been beautiful! I swear if it goes back to last week’s weather I’ll have to start kicking puppies and kittens.

I took advantage of the lovely weather and headed out for a run. Along with the many millions of DC summer tourists.

Annoyed

I really need to work on my angry face...

Today’s run was also a chance for me to test out my new capris from Old Navy. They were on sale and I couldn’t resist. Besides, this way I can delay doing laundry for a couple more days.

They capris were fine but nothing spectacular. Plus, I’m pretty sure they make my bottom half look bigger than it is, and as I pear-shaped girl I am not appreciative of that fact. I generally prefer running shorts, so I think that’s what I’ll stick to.

I saw ducks and ducklings on the run. For some reason I find ducks hilarious and I think everyone that was standing around me that I was certifiable for laughing and taking pictures of this:

ducks

Quick! We'll hide from mom in the water!

mommaduck

You can run ducklings, but you can't hide!

The run was alright. My knee has been acting up again and I think it might be time to take an ax to it. Some days I’ll run and it’s fine, some days I run and hurts like a biatch. Not cool knee, not cool. Also, now that tourist season is in full swing manoeuvrings around these people is impossible.

Welcome to tourist hell!

Tourists in DC travel in these gigantic packs so you have to dodge and weave between 10 or 15 of them, and they let their idiotic children ran all over. The number of times I have nearly run over a kid who wasn’t paying attention…

I’m sorry but if there is anything worse than the DC summer heat, it’s DC summer tourists. Please know that I hate you all and you ruin my summer runs each and every day.

Some days living in DC is great though, the city can be quite pretty despite the heat and the tourists.

I’m just realizing that this post is a bit all over the place, but whatever. Getting back to my knee and my recent running experiences. I’m frustrated with my running at the moment. I seem to have hit some kind of plateau and I don’t know if it’s mental or physical, either way it’s slowly driving my crazy. With marathon training going full-steam ahead, I need to bust out of this stupid phase. Every run lately just sucks. I feel tired, and crappy and sore. I’ve been trying to take a day off in between running days (I’ll lift or swim or bike, but no running) and that helped a little but clearly has not solved the problem. I still feel like I want to run most days, so it doesn’t seem to be a lack of desire to run, but clearly something is off.

Questions

How do you manage running plateaus?

Any other tourist-bashers out there? Can we pretty please start a club?

10 Responses to “Weather, Please Never Change”

  1. Dawn June 16, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Have you taken any total rest days lately (no lifting, biking, swimming, etc)? It might help if you take just one or two days off from scheduled training/activity. If you REALLY feel like doing something, go for it, but if you feel like being lazy? Do that. Your body might just be asking for some rest, and it’ll also give you a nice mental break that’ll let you come back and really get into your training.

    As you get more into marathon training, you’ll find yourself feeling it (especially since this is your first one!). Don’t be afraid to take a day or two a week off completely to really let your body recover from the increased mileage.

    • feetoffancy June 17, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      I make sure to take at least one total rest day a week. The past few weeks I’ve had 2 or 3 rest days.

      A friend recommended taking a week off from running, but I’m a little nervous about doing that in the middle of marathon training.

      I’ve also heard that as you get deeper into marathon training you need more and more sleep. I haven’t been going to bed any earlier, so maybe that’s part of the problem?

  2. Erin @ Big Girl Feats June 16, 2011 at 9:09 pm #

    Are you making sure you’re super hydrated? I know when I was running a lot, especially last summer and into the fall, I needed WAY more water than I thought. Clearly you’re thinking about it since you have a water bottle in the above picture!

    I’m about to be one of those tourists this summer! I promise to get out of your way during a run 😉

    • feetoffancy June 17, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      I’m usually pretty good about drinking enough water, but maybe with the warmer temperatures and humidity I’m not getting enough?

      I think you’ll be one of the few tourists us DCers actually like! And if you need a tourguide, I’m happy to oblige 🙂

  3. gary huff June 17, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    Looks like some of those people need to do some running, hey.

    • feetoffancy June 17, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Like me! I’m nowehere near you’re mileage!

  4. Erin @ untilyoutri June 17, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    I have been LOVING the weather lately…although it has been making me even more sad that I can’t run right now. I am anti-tourist, too! It makes me not want to go places or do some things in DC (like see the cherry blossoms) because I just don’t want to deal with the craziness sometimes.

    • feetoffancy June 20, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      The weather has been so bizarre as of late! Boiling hot, to absolutely lovely, to rain, rain,rain. I’m so sorry you can’t run at the moment, I know how much that sucks! I don’t dislike all tourists, just the ones who stand in the middle of the path with their map upside down trying to figure out why they can’t find the Lincoln Memorial located directly in front of them! So frustrating.

  5. Liz June 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    The tourists drive me crazy also! They really have no concept of sharing the sidewalk.

    • feetoffancy June 23, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      None at all. Trying to run on the Mall in the summer is just impossible.

Leave a Reply

