Work It Out Wednesday

23 Jun

Progress, people progress. That’s what the past two weeks have been about. I was really slacking on my workouts until last week when I finally started to get back on track. But I do have a deep, dark confession to make.

I haven’t been very diligent about following my marathon training plan. I’ve been running, I’ve been cross-training, I’ve been lifting, but I have not been following the training plan. The first couple of weeks I stuck to the plan like super glue, but it calls for 4-5 days of running, and for that’s too much for me, I risk injury (again). So I unglued and have kind of been doing my own thing.

So, with that now out in the open, I wanted to get some advice from those of you who have trained for a marathon. Will I be able to finish if I adjust the plan? Since this is my first marathon, I’m nervous about deviating from the TnT plan and risking total epic failure. Thoughts? Ideas? Random musings?

Work It Out Wednesday

I felt good this week. I cut my fried food consumption back to a truckload instead of two or three, and I ate the occasional fruit or vegetable. My workouts were pretty decent too. I even sort of attempt to follow the first round of New Rules of Lifting for Women. Here’s the breakdown:

Thursday: 4.5 mile walk/run with A DC Running Novice

Friday: 15 mins weightlifting; 45 mins HILLY spin class

Saturday: 3.1 mile walk: 10 mile bike ride (knee pain flared up around mile 10 so I cut the ride short, I had planned on 15 miles)

Self-portrait FAIL

Sunday: Rest; Horseback riding; lots of breaking things due to unexpected knee pain

Monday: 3.1 mile treadmill run, 33 mins (my knee had been KILLING me the day before and I expected this run to be a total suck-fest, it was actually one of the best runs I’ve had in awhile)

Tuesday: 10 mins ellipitical warm-up (SMASH!); 20 mins weightlifting; 15 mins core stuff; 5.5 mile bike ride, 30 mins

Wednesday: 15 mins elliptical (SMASH!); 10 mins core stuff; 15ish mins swim; 4 mile run/walk, 1 hour with A DC Running Novice

Why yes, we are naturally this awesome

It was decided on my run with Leslie from A DC Running Novice today that we’ll be running the Country Music Marathon next year. I am so beyond pumped. It looks like a great race, and an ideal selection for my second marathon.

I’ll also be running the Disney Half-Marathon in January. Anyone else participating? Let’s throw a pre-race carbo-loading party and a post-race froyo/booze-it-up party!

Questions

Pretty please share your marathon training stories!! Whether, funny, sad, epic, or gross I want to hear them!

Who in DC is ready to punch this weather in the face?

What’s your favorite post-race fuel?

 

 

6 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday”

  1. katie June 23, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    I am ready to shoot someone over this weather. it’s awful.

    • feetoffancy June 23, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      Last week was awesome. This week is not awesome. At all.

  2. Coach brian June 23, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    I switched training plans about three times during the lead up to my first marathon and it was a total disaster. You can read about it here:

    http://www.arunnersblog.com/2008-walt-disney-world-marathon-my-experience/

    I too had a lingering knee issue at the time, but that was not the only problem I ended up with. Beware, it falls into the gross category.

    For my second marathon, I pretty much stuck with the training plan, though I did slack a little in the last month. I ran a half marathon in January and totally rocked that. It was an emotional high and the aftermath led to a bit of apathy for the remaining month of training. Thankfully, I had a great bunch of guys to run the long runs with on the weekend and I didn’t miss any of those. I ended up taking almost 2 hours off my time. If you’re super bored, you can read that race report here:

    http://www.arunnersblog.com/2010-gasparilla-distance-classic-marathon/

    As far as injuries go, what I’ve learned over time is that it’s best to figure out what’s causing the injury and fix it. A lot of people will say “I have bad knees” and dismiss it, but there’s almost always some kind of muscle imbalance that results in those “bad knees”. It may go beyond just your legs too. Without a strong core, your feet will hit the ground at weird angles and that will torque your knee. You’re also tall so you probably have a long stride. The next time you’re out for a short run, try shortening your stride and increasing your turnover. That’s a more efficient and less stressful gait.

    • feetoffancy June 23, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing these. I am obsessed with marathon reports at the moment, so I will really enjoy reading these, even if they fall into the gross category.

      You may be right about the muscle imbalance. I’ve failed epically at going to the doctor. I don’t any good ones in the area, and I lot of my friends have had horrible experiences with doctors that tell them the only option is to stop running. It may time to suck it up though and see if someone can work out what’s wrong.

      I’ve been trying to increase my core strength as it’s such a critically important piece of running (even though it is SO often overlooked). I’ve also been trying to shorten my strides. I was on the basketball and track teams in high school which have led to some not so good running practices (such as really long strides).

  3. Dawn June 27, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    It really depends on what your plan calls for and how you adjust it. The key will be to not mess with your long runs too much (you’ll want to keep that nice steady build) and to do enough running during the week to support those long runs. If you’re worried about injury, you can sub out some runs with time on the elliptical. You’ll also definitely want to keep up with a good strength training program. To take the pressure off your knees, you’ll want to strengthen your core, hips and glutes/hamstrings.

    I’m happy to give you some more detailed info over email and help you rework your plan to something that will get you to the start line both healthy and prepared.

    • feetoffancy July 7, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      I’ve been trying not to mess with the long runs (although I admit to giving in on a couple of particularly hot days before I hit the scheduled mileage). I’m a little nervous about injury as I tend to be very injury-prone. I’ve been cross-training and lifting to help prevent injuries but is there something else I should be doing?

      I would love more detailed advice if you’re up for it! You know so much more about this then I do and I would greatly appreciate your advice!

Leave a Reply

