‘Fess It Up Friday

24 Jun

It’s time for everyone’s favorite part of the week, because obviously you have nothing better to do than read random ridiculous facts about me.

1) I hate people who don’t use real names on Facebook. No one’s name is LoveIsEternal or PeaceHopeLove. And no one thinks you’re cool for doing that, mostly people think you’re a tool. Come to think of it, you probably are.

2) When I was in seventh grade I had the genius idea to jump off the top of the bleachers at the high school dance. I jumped and did some kind of gymnastic-y split thing (I was way more flexible in those days) and I ripped my pants straight down the butt. I had to walk with my back to the wall to the school’s office and call my mom from their phone (this was pre-everyone has a cellphone days) to bring me new jeans.

3) I want to buy the Saucony Mirages just because of the awesome colors.

So bright, we glow in the dark...

4) I have zero tolerance for stupidity. We all have our  moments, but don’t act like a slutty idiot and expect me to feel sorry for you. You made bad choices, now you have to deal with it.

Sorry LiLo, no sympathy here

5) I currently have three water bottles and four coffee mugs on my desk. coincidentally, I think there might be something mentally wrong with me.

6) Grunting is getting out of control at Wimbledon. Seriously ladies, dial it down, on one needs to hear that on the court.

Put it away Serena, just put it away.

7) I showered almost everyday this week. I did not wash my hair everyday, but the experts are on my side with that one, so ha!

8) I’m going skydiving on July 18th. I wasn’t even peer-pressured into it. I actually peer-pressured a friend to go with me. There was a BuyWithMe deal and I was all, “hey throwing myself out of a plane strapped to another person sounds like the best idea EVER.”

I plan to make this guy's face while free-falling from a zillion feet in the air

So to recap, I am going to voluntarily throw myself out of a plan, strapped to a stranger, for no apparent reason. Oh and I’m paying to do it. But you’re all in luck, it will be video-taped.

9) I have listened to the Glee version of “Loser Like Me” roughly a million times since I downloaded it last night. Thanks, but I’m already aware that I am the coolest person you know.

Get your Gleek on!

10) When I’m not running I have great taste in music. I’m cool and hip and awesome. When I run I have zero taste in music, it has to be fast and upbeat. This leads to a lot of the trendy stuff and tons of reggaeton. There I admitted to it. Daddy Yankee and Pitbull own my running playlist.

You’d be cool too if you wore sunglasses indoors and at night

I have absolutely no idea what they sing about because my Spanish does not extend beyond “hola, como estas?” And some days that’s a struggle.

11) I was in a great mood when I got to work this morning and thought about closing the door and having a dance party in my office. But then I wasn’t sure how I would explain that if someone came into my office, “Oh hey there, I’m just having a dance party cos I’m awesome like that. Don’t mind me.”

I've got mad dancing skillz!

Good thing I had a dance party in my kitchen last night.

12) Search terms to find my blog were way better last week, although there were still a few gems:

“Miss Transvestite” -What is with the transvestite theme? Maybe it’s my newly found arm muscles (see below)

“Please can you change the weather” -Yes, please change it, and do it quick

“Epic cats” -Err… what?

“Workhouse” -That’s what this is! Now drop and give me 20!

13) I am ridiculously excited that I have arm muscles for the first time in my life. It’s awesome, and no I don’t care if I now have the shoulders of a linebacker, all the better to beat people who annoy me.

My second job is posing as The Hulk

14) Going along with the above picture, my nickname on my high school basketball team was actually The Hulk. I even had it stitched onto that season’s sweatshirt. I have no clue how I got the nickname because my arm muscles were kind of lacking in those days.

Alright so come on, tell me one ridiculous thing about you!

Questions

Who has awesome weekend plans? I do not, I’ll be busy dying tomorrow morning in the heat and humidity on my seven mile run

Who else will own up to having a crazy nickname at some point in their life?

8 Responses to “‘Fess It Up Friday”

  1. Coach brian June 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Okay, I’ll play along. I do not have awesome weekend plans because I’ll be dying on a seven mile run in the heat & humidity here in FLORIDA.

    Despite being a skinny guy all my life, I have been called “Iron Man” by two separate and completely unrelated groups of people. The first was my high school volleyball team. Sometime during my Junior year, I came down with a lung infection and had to miss a couple weeks of the season. Through classic high school word of mouth, “Lung Infection” got morphed into “He’s in an iron lung or something”. When I returned to practice, everyone started calling me the “Iron Lung”, but it eventually changed to “Iron Man”.

    During graduate school, I would go to sea to several times a year to measure surface iron concentrations in the Gulf of Mexico. Because I was doing this from a research vessel composed primarily of iron, I had to take special precautions. I sampled using a Teflon bottle from a nylon cable on the front of the boat. I required the crew to steer the boat into the wind so there was no chance any rust from the boat would blow into my sample and contaminate it. The crew began to call me “Iron Man” and after a few months they even started to blast the Black Sabbath classic over the ship’s speakers while I was taking my sample.

    • feetoffancy July 7, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      The Iron Man nickname is excellent! Very bad-ass. And who doesn’t love a little Black Sabbath every now and again?

  2. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas June 24, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I love the arm muscles! You look super strong but not scary like Madonna. She looks like a robot.

    I haven’t had too many nicknames… my dad insists upon calling me CC, which makes no sense since there’s only one C in my name. One of my best friends started a movement to try to get people to call me Spunky but I vetoed that hard.

    • feetoffancy July 7, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      If I ever get to the Madonna point I’ll have to take drastic action, she frightens me! It was probably a good call to veto the Spunky nickname, it just doesn’t seem to fit.

  3. Erin @ Big Girl Feats June 28, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I am super jealous of your arm muscles!! In elementary school, my friend called me Elmo because my initials are ELM. After that, everyone referred to me as Mac, EMac or Big Mac, due to being tall and because of my last name. It’s stuck for life. My most favorite nickname, though, is my friend Alicia aka Loosh aka Doosh. It’s so fun to yell that at her and have her glare at us because her 4 year old daughter has taken to calling her “Mommy Doosh.” HA.

    • feetoffancy July 7, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      I love your nicknames! I have nickname envy, I’ve never really had a nickname that I liked. And Mommy Doosh is too funny, I love it!

  4. katie July 7, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I just bought a pair of Kinvaras because of the awesome eye-hurting color! Love those.

    • feetoffancy July 7, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      If you can glow in the dark and been seen from space because your shoes are so bright, you know your winning!

Leave a Reply

