Work It Out Wednesday (A Day Late)

7 Jul

Guess who’s been failing at blogging? This girl! I’m so sorry guys, things were crazy last week and then I spent the Fourth of July weekend with some kind of lovely food poisoning that led to my being curled up on the couch wallowing in pain and watching Modern Family.

But I’m back and ready to get back to it! So let’s play a bit of catch-up with a two-in-one Work It Out Wednesday and a marathon training recap.

Work-Outs

Thursday 6/23: 2.75 mile run, 30 mins.

Friday 6/24: 2.6 miles on the elliptical, 25 mins; BodyPump, 45mins

Saturday 6/25: 4 mile run, 48 mins. I hate you lead legs.

Sunday 6/26: 6 mile walk/run 90 mins. Legs hated me.

Monday 6/27: Nada

Tuesday 6/28: 2.4 mile run, 25 minutes; Weights 15 mins.

Wednesday 6/29: Lots of walking. Forever and ever.

Thursday 6/30: 4 mile run, 45 minutes. Spent much of the run cursing DC and its hot and humid summers

Friday 7/1: 25 mins weight session. Wasn’t sure how much time I would have, so I just did some random stuff. 10 mins on the elliptical to warm-up

Saturday 7/2: 5.75 mile run, 1 hour. It was hot, really, really hot but I finished the run without dying

Sunday 7/3: Leisurely 20 min swim; supposed to run but started to feel not so awesome

Monday 7/4: Sick, the most exercise I got was reaching over the coffee table for the remote

Tuesday 7/5: 3.75 mile stationary bike; .45 miles on the elliptical; 25 mins weights; 2.75 mile run (it sucked)

Wednesday: 30 mins core stuff, random weight machines and rolling around in pain on the foam roller; 3ish mile walk (supposed to be a run, but I still wasn’t feeling great)

Super Insightful Reflections on the Last Week

The past couple weeks have been crazy busy. I haven’t slept as well as I usually do, and haven’t had as much time to devote to my work-outs hence, the sub-par runs, etc. A feel a bit frustrated looking back over the numbers for the past couple weeks, but I know why my runs were awful and why I felt tired and worn down.

My stress and chaos levels hit new highs and it clearly impacted my training. By recognizing the root cause I can tackle the problem before it gets out of hand and hopefully get back on track with training.

Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

To help improve my training and hopefully run a stronger marathon, I’m going to make some changes. I’m posting them here so that if I slack off you all can hurl abuse at me and force me back on track.

-First, get more sleep! As my mileage goes up, I can feel I need more than my typical 7-8 hours. I’m going to try for 8-9 hours of sleep through the reminder of marathon training

-Second, hydrate, hydrate, hydrate. Oh and also, hydrate. DC in the summer is brutal and trying to run without properly hydrating first is just a terrible, awful, very bad idea.

-Third, make a regular date with my foam roller. I am really, really bad about foam rolling. I kind of hate the foam roller because it hurts SO much when I’m rolling around on it, but I love it because my muscles feel much better on my next run. If I’m going to use the damn thing I have to commit, so commit I will. And for you foam-roller devotees, any suggestions? How often should I foam-roll? Any moves that really help? Also stretching goes along with this. I solemnly swear that from now until October 30, 2011 I will stretch after every single run.

-Fourth, pick-up the cross-training. I’ve noticed that I’ve been slacking on my cross-training lately. When I do it, I just sort of half-ass it and don’t try as hard as I should. So going forward, I need to make a true effort with cross-training.

30 Day Ab Challenge

Finally, in an effort to help motivate myself I’m launching a 30 day ab challenge (as of yesterday). For the next 30 days I have to do at least 10 mins of ab stuff everyday. Twice a week I have to do longer ab workouts (25-30 mins, I’m going to allow BodyPump to be counted in this category because that class makes my abs burn for days), and I’m allowed one day off the challenge each week. Anyone want to give it a go with me?

I’m so sorry for abandoning everyone there for a couple of weeks! I’m fueled up on sleep and coffee so I’m ready to blog, comment, tweet and all that other fun stuff. Oh, and maybe I’ll run too.

In other exciting news, I’m officially signed up to run Ragnar in September. Clearly, it was a moment of pure insanity which I will seriously regret during that third leg. If anyone in the area doesn’t want to run, but wants to volunteer let me know! I will love forever and bake you cookies.

Questions

Any recommendations for awesome ab moves?

Someone please tell me about their Fourth of July awesomeness so I can live vicariously through you!

4 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday (A Day Late)”

  1. Erin @ Big Girl Feats July 8, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Ugh, I hope you’re feeling better! I agree, rest and hydration help any and every case – especially if you’re hardcore training. I definitely need to get back to cross training, especially strength and yoga. They make such a huge difference in my body and mind.

  2. Nina July 8, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    I know how you feel about stress getting you off track. I’m taking a summer Polish class and the shiz really hit the fan this week, if you know what I mean. I felt awful during pretty much every work out.

    In regards to your ab challenge, I don’t know if you know this, but the #fitblog community is doing one as well! It seems like you’d be on track to join in, so here’s the link : http://fitblogchats.us1.list-manage.com/track/click?u=4745fbef8e92eec47dd3d4274&id=e955ea9b6d&e=d049f0ddf7

    Keep on truckin’!

  3. katie July 10, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    30 day abs! I’ll join you! hope you are feeling better!

    • feetoffancy July 12, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      I’m finally feeling better, thanks! And let’s do it, I need someone to kick my butt in to gear when I try to quit my own challenge.

Leave a Reply

