Bucket List

12 Jul

As I’ve already mentioned several times (fear compels me to) I’m going skydiving on July 18th. I’m feeling the same way I did before I went bungee-jumping the first time, super excited to do something crazy, but slightly terrified that this might be a horrible idea. I’ve beaten that negative part into submission, so it only crops up every now and again.

After booking my jump I started thinking about what other things are on my Bucket List. This doesn’t have much to do with running, racing, or marathon training, so if that’s what you read this blog for, feel free to skip this post, but I thought it might be fun to put up my bucket list.  I’d also love to know what’s on your Bucket List. Please share so I can steal ideas.

“Bad-Ass Bucket List”

1) Sky-dive (to be completed on Monday. Oh dear)

2) Help a total stranger for no reason

3) Celebrate Carnivale in Brazil

4) See the Taj Mahal

5) Climb Mt. Kilimanjaro (or the Twin Peaks of Mt. Kilimanjaro! Who gets the reference? Anyone? Anyone?)

6) Spend a year backpacking around the world

7) Spend a year volunteering

8 ) Travel to Antarctica. Bonus: run a race in Antarctica

9) Go hang-gliding and don’t die

10) Learn to cook 1 gourmet dish. Really, really well.

11) Drive a race car super-fast

12) Go jet-skiing

13) Go volcano-boarding (hopefully will be done in Nicaragua in January. Fingers crossed!!)

14) Participate (and hopefully win) an eating contest

15) Celebrate a birthday on a roof-top

16) Attend Cannes

17) Go on a safari

18) Tango in Argentina

19) Samba in Brazil

20) Stay at the ice hotel. Only for one night, no one needs to sleep on ice for more than one night

21) Go bob-sledding. With the Jamaican bob-sledding team (kidding! Sort of)

22) Read all the classics. Except for the ones I think are stupid

23) Help someone go to or get through college

24) See Machu Picchu. And have my picture taken there doing some kind of ridiculous dance move.

25) Travel the Silk Road

26) Drink vodka in Moscow

27) Attend Oktoberfest in Germany

28) See the Midnight Sun (semi-achieved in Iceland one summer, but I was eleven and didn’t really appreciate it)

29) Take boat trip down the Nile

30) See the Pyramids. And have my picture taken there doing some kind of ridiculous dance move. I’m going to make this my calling card because I am THAT awesome

31) Learn to water-ski. I’ve been water-skiing but it results in one of the following: falling off and spraining my ankle, falling off and breaking a ski, falling off and losing my bikini bottoms. I will conquer the art of water-skiing

32) Visit Glacier National Park and bitch about global warming

33) Bike across the US. My butt hurts just thinking about this one

34) Go crabbing

35) Ride a camel

36) Ride an elephant

37) Go paint-balling and actually win. I’ve been paint-balling many a time, and lost every single game.

38) Play the stock market

39) Attend a Superbowl, preferably one where my beloved Giants are playing (and winning)

40) Attend the Winter Olympics. I love both the summer and winter Olympics, but there’s just something about the Winter Olympics. It’s probably the Minnesotan in me

41) Serve as a race volunteer

42) Attend a Stanley Cup game, preferably where my beloved Penguins are playing (and winning)

43) Donate to Locks of Love (or similar organization)

44) Shoot a gun

45) Touch a panda

46) Swim in the Caribbean

47) Eat pasta in Italy

48) Ski in the Alps

49) Knit a blanket that doesn’t look like crap

50) Design and make a dress

51) Visit all 50 states. I am SO close

52) Take a train throughout Europe

53) Pub crawl in the Rhondda Valley in south Wales where my Dad’s family is from

54) Adopt a dog

55) Join the Peace Corps

56) Run Ragnar (September baby!!!! WOO!)

57) Teach someone to read

58) Attend Wimbledon so I can check out Rafal Nadal in person

59) Learn to paint

60) Sleep on a beach

61) Take a cruise. Most likely to Alaska

62) Grow a garden

63) Save someone’s life

64) Stand on the Great Wall of China

65) Run a marathon (to be completed October 30, 2011)

So… that’s a lot to get done in one lifetime. But I love a challenge so bring it on! Plus I’ve achieved a few awesome things in my short little life.

I did this:

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

Lived here (and sort of learned the language):

Dude, France is the bomb.com

Almost drowned when I fell in the river, while doing this:

Paddle faster!

Successfully made it through this:

Umm...what just happened?

And I saw these babies up close and personal:

Grrrr!

Plus some other awesome stuff. Here’s to making it all the way through my bucket list before I have to kick the bucket!

Question

What’s on your bucket list? If you don’t have a bucket list what are some of the big dreams you have for your life?

4 Responses to “Bucket List”

  1. AdamB July 12, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    Awesome bucket list! I think my favorite one is about reading all the classics except the stupid ones….lol, funny.

    • feetoffancy July 13, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      Haha, thanks! I’m not going to waste precious time with books I don’t even enjoy, so the stupid ones will just have to be left for others to read 🙂

  2. Erin @ Big Girl Feats July 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    I SO want to go to Macchu Picchu. I met a Peruvian man last weekend who said there is another trail that’s even better than MP, but now I forget the name of it. I think it was 3 something….or maybe that was the number of tequila shots I had…

  3. Coach brian July 13, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Staying in one of those little cabins on stilts over the water in Bora Bora is probably the highest thing on my bucket list right now. I’m not sure I could come up with 65!

Leave a Reply

