Work It Out Wednesday

14 Jul

This week’s edition of Work It Out Wednesday is a day late again because I always like to be fashionably late.

I finally feel like my workouts are back on track. I’ve been following my marathon training plan more closely as the mileage picks up and supplementing my running with cross-training and weight-lifting. The weigh-lifting seems to have given me a big boost as of late. I’ve felt stronger on many of my recent runs and I’ve had very little knee/shin pain which was previously a huge problem for me.

I’m knocking wood, crossing my fingers and grabbing my luck rabbit’s foot in hopes that these more positive feelings are here to stay. Up until a couple weeks ago I was really, really struggling with my running. I still do, but it’s more due to impending heat stroke from this never-ending heat wave than anything else.

Work It Out Wednesday

Here’s this week’s break down:

Thursday– 2.5 mile treadmill run, 25 mins; Free weights, 20 mins.

Friday– Drive to CT. I count navigating the Jersey Turnpike as a workout

Saturday– 8 mile long run, 90 mins. There were so many hills. I would climb one and then a look another hill! This run took forever, but I felt strong and positive which was a nice change, usually I fall apart on my long runs. Hopefully this is the start of a new trend.

Sunday– Driving back to DC. Again with the Turnpike

Monday– 4.5 mile run, 50 mins. It was hot as all get out. On the loop I felt strong heading out, but as soon as I turned around I felt awful. I spent the return stretch trying to prevent myself from dying

Tuesday– Arc Trainer 2.7 miles, 25 mins. All I have to say about this machine is my thighs are still sore. It was a zillion times better than using the elliptical too.

Wednesday– 1.5 mile incline walk/run, 20ish minutes; 30 min tough circuit workout

Odds and Ends

A few exciting happenings this week. First, the midnight showing of Harry Potter is tonight!! I am more excited than a tween girl at a Justin Bieber concert, but whatever. I am going to show up strutting my stuff in my Ron Weasley shirt and it will be awesome.

Go check out my guest post today at Big Girl Feats. Erin has survived so much and has maintained a sunny outlook through it all. Her blog is so inspiring. Keep it up, girl!

I’ve been selected as one of five finalists for digitalrunning.com’s Next Great Running Columnist competition. I’ll be duking it out American Idol style with four other amazing finalists. Every week we’ll each right a column and the author with the fewest number of votes will be eliminated.

I’m planning to go all America’s Next Top Model on this competition, “I’m here to win, not to make friends!” Because that attitude always wins (insert sarcasm here).

I’m looking forward to trying my hand at something new since the last column I wrote was… never. Hopefully I’ll be able to churn out something mildly intriguing, but no promises people.

Questions

Who is racing this weekend? Please tell me your racing plans so I can stew in jealousy.

Harry Potter- who is cool and going to the midnight showing??

8 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday”

  1. Coach brian July 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks for the DRC shoutout. I’m looking forward to your first column and the competition in general. It should be fun and the site will definitely benefit from new writers.

    • feetoffancy July 15, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

      Happy to give some love to DRC, it’s a great site wih spot-on advice. I’m looking forward to reading all the columns, it should be a good contest!

  2. Erin @ Big Girl Feats July 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    Dude, that’s awesome!! Congrats on being part of the competition!

    I still need to watch HP1 and I’m freaking out about how I can do that STAT!

    Thank you SO much for the amazing comment and linking to my blog. Love it!

    • feetoffancy July 15, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Thank you! I’m terrified that I won’t be able to come up with any columns, but at least I can say I made it this far.

      If you’re playing catch-up with the Potter movies, I recommend skipping 1, 2, and 6. 1 and 2 are more “kid-friendly” and 6 was just a hot mess.

      Thanks again for letting me guest post! Always happy to share some blog love, especially for a blog as awesome as yours!

  3. Stef July 14, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    Sigh. No midnight showing here. :(. BUT I’m seeing it tomorrow night at 10pm (with a 7 mile run bright & early the next morning- yech). I used to be a huge fan of HP midnight showings but 2 kids changed all that for me. 🙂

    • feetoffancy July 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Ouch, I know how hard those late night-early morning run combos can be. I hope you make it through!

      2 kids can make the midnight showing tough! I used to be a nanny and distinctly remember several disastrous trips to the movie theater (in the middle of the afternoon).

  4. katie July 15, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Jersey turnpike = huge workout. My HR is in tempo zone for sure!

    • feetoffancy July 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      I all but hit panic attack levels on the turnpike. It’s a bunch of crazy idiots that can’t drive. Plus, there’s that distinct smell that only the state of Jersey gives off, belch.

Leave a Reply

