Work It Out Wednesday… Back on Schedule!

20 Jul

I finally feel like I’m catching up on my blog and the blogging world in general. Things have been so hectic the past few weeks I’ve barely had a chance to breathe, let only sit down and read.

With life settling back into a routine (minus throwing myself out of a plane) I’m hoping to remain on track with blogging and marathon training.

Workouts

Part of this past week was a little wonky. I’ve been diligent about keeping to my marathon training schedule the past few weeks, but I slipped up a bit this week. A lot of this happened:

Gimme!!

I was supposed to run for 30 mins on Sunday, but took it off because Saturday’s long run nearly destroyed me (see the heat index in DC this week). Monday morning I ran for all of 10 minutes and then realized I was out of time. So Monday was basically a second rest day.

Yesterday, I had grand plans to run and lift at lunch, but my behind was killing me (see here for an explanation). I skipped my lunch plans, but when I arrived home last night I could feel my legs itching for a run, so I ace bandaged my battle wound and hit the treadmill for a quick 20 mins and then swam for another 20. It’s so damn hot outside that even the gym in my apartment, which is air-conditioned left my drenched.

I know, I know, sweat is a great look for me

 

Tonight’s workout was solid and I mapped my workouts for the remainder of the week, so I should be back on track with training.

Here’s this week’s break-down

Thursday-4.25 mile run, 45 mins. Ab stuff

Friday– Vinyasa class, 1 hour. I think I also got on the elliptical for a bit, but I didn’t log it DailyMile and I cannot fully remember. Age 23 and my memory is already going; Ab stuff

Saturday– 8 mile run, 90 minutes; Ab stuff

Sunday– Off

Monday– Off. Skydiving! A bit of leisurely swimming, one extremely competitive lap race, which I won! Booyah! I take those things seriously

Tuesday– 2.1 mile run, 22 mins; 20 min swim

Wednesday– 1 mile run, 10 mins; 40 min swim, roughly 1500 meters (I really have no clue though); shortened version of Gina’s circuit workout, 20 mins; Return to the 30 Day Ab Challenge after two days off due to epic grass burn

I’ve been enjoying the swimming I’ve done this week. It feels great to be back in the pool and actually swimming as opposed to just floating around counting the clouds in the sky. I need to be careful with my goggles though as this happened today.

Is that a black-eye??

It’s hard to tell in this lovely iPhone photo, but my goggles left some beautiful marks on my face. I think they might be too tight? But if I loosen them they flood with water. Very frustrating.

My mileage isn’t where I would like it to be for the week, but hopefully between tomorrow’s run and Saturday’s 10-miler I’ll end the week with a decent number. I have to find the willpower to do 10 miles this weekend. For some reason the distances seem more challenging now than when I trained for my half-marathon. Maybe it’s the heat? Either way, I feel like I’m slogging through my long runs.

If anyone in the area who also runs at a super slow pace wants to join me for some or all of the miles on Saturday I would be ecstatic to have the company. 10 miles seems like an impossible distance at the moment.

The increasing mileage is also messing with my diet. I’m starting to feel hungry all the time. I’ve stocked my desk drawer at work with some healthy stuff, so when the urge to snack hits I have some options on hand. I have a harder time when I’m working at the restaurant because my only options are greasy fries, nasty bread, or oily soup. I try to bring my own snacks (Clif bars, bananas, peanut butter sandwiches, etc) but some days my hunger sneaks up on me.

Questions:

For those who have been through marathon training any recommendations on how to handle the increased hunger?

Anyone else going through a crazy busy time at the moment? Feel free to vent, I’m always happy to listen!

4 Responses to “Work It Out Wednesday… Back on Schedule!”

  1. Victoria (District Chocoholic) July 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    Goggle marks are not only normal, they are sexy.

    • feetoffancy July 21, 2011 at 9:28 am #

      Agreed. If only I could make other people understand. But they’re just jealous because they don’t have sweet goggle marks 🙂

  2. Coach Brian July 20, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    During marathon training, I combat hunger with pretzels (Snyders are baked and whole wheat – I think), my own homemade energy bars, peanut butter and all fruit sandwiches (use all natural peanut butter and Palonar all fruit spread), green monster smoothies (spinach, peanut butter, banana, milk, and a little chocolate).

    My big mistake was my habit of consuming whole bags of Pizza rolls following my 18-20 mile long runs. I didn’t gain any weight, but my triglycerides were through the roof the next time I had my blood taken. So, I can’t really recommend that strategy.

    • feetoffancy July 21, 2011 at 9:26 am #

      Pretezels and I have grown very close in recent weeks. I’m addicted to Trader Joe’s sourdough pretzels but I’ll have to give the Snyder’s whole wheat a try. Peanut butter is my best friend. I would probably live off it if I could.

      I’m a more recent green monster convert, but they are delicious and there are so many ways to switch it up. Any recipe recommendations for energy bars? I haven’t tried making my own before but I’m willing to give it a go.

      Pizza rolls don’t seem like the best fuel. My worst experience was eating a bag of fries the night before a 10-mile run. Puking my guts up at mile 6 made that a memorable run.

Leave a Reply

