And That’s When I Failed Epically at Blogging

24 Aug

Well. It clearly has been quite some time since I’ve posted. My bad. Life took over bringing chaos and destruction with it, but things are calming down so let’s get back on track with a recap of last weekend’s Healthy Living Summit.

I have never spent this much time with so many girls (perhaps a total of 3 guys attended?) since Girl Scout summer camps back in the day. But it was a complete blast and frankly a nice change of pace to be able to meet so many lovely ladies.

I arrived much later on Friday than planned after a rather eventful MegaBus journey. Our bus was pulled over for speeding very rudely interrupting my nap. After finally arriving in Philly, I met up with my gorgeous roommates Carly, Jess, and Allison (thanks for putting up with me over the weekend ladies!) Due to my late arrival, we started prepping for the evening’s cocktail party almost immediately. Surprisingly, the four of us were able to change and primp in the about half-an-hour, which I do believe is a new world record for four girls sharing a room.

Then it was off to let our hair down and enjoy our first night in Philadelphia. After braving the elements (it was raining, and I had just curled my hair) we made it the one block distance to Reading Terminal Market, the fantastic location of the cocktail party.

The cocktail party was great fun. All the HLS attendees were warm and friendly, so mingling wasn’t as intimidating as it usual is. Plus, there was a photo-booth, and as I have the mental age of a 5 year old, I was beyond excited.

I also had the chance to finally meet one of my favorite bloggers, Victoria from the District Chocoholic. She is just as awesome in real-life as she is on her blog, and loves chocolate just as much as she seems. I personally witnessed her pull multiple bars of chocolate from her purse over the weekend; she also took us to a chocolate restaurant for dinner Saturday night. I’m thinking about asking her if I can move in.

DC bloggers represent!

Yes, I am aware that I look like a giant in this photo, but I swear I’m not that tall. Ok, that might be a lie.

I was also able to meet the amazing Erin, from Big Girl Feats. This girl is incredible, she’s been through so much and has such a fun-loving, optimistic attitude. Plus she was willing to accept my second-grade writing abilities for a guest post on her blog.

New blends πŸ™‚

We finished out the night by gorging on the available appetizers and having more ridiculous fun in the photo-booth. As there was a long run planned in the morning, most of us called it quits pretty early.

Despite the early end to the evening, I still copped out of the run the next morning. Sometimes sleep is the priority. I managed to drag myself out of bed with the promise of breakfast…

I ❀ cereal

…and loaded up my bowl, and plate, and second bowl accordingly. Following breakfast the day’s sessions started. I’m going to do a separate post on what I learned from HLS. If I try to include it here, this will become the longest post in the history of the world.

I grabbed lunch after the morning sessions, and then wandered to Reading Terminal Market with Erin from Travel Eat Repeat and Carly and Jess.

It was here that I purchased the most amazing butterscotch peanut butter I have ever tasted. I also inhaled a Kahlua whoopie pie, it was a magically experience.

Erin and I walked around Philly for a bit talking about her world travels. I was green with jealousy and am now plotting to travel to all the incredible places she told me about.

We booked it back to the hotel just in time for the afternoon sessions. I busted out of the afternoon sessions a little early so I could hit the gym and make up for my lack of a morning run.

Victoria had mentioned something about going to a chocolate restaurant for dinner, an idea I was immediately on board with. We hit the streets of Philly and ended up at Max Brenner’s, i.e heaven.

Fact.

We devoured some chocolate dusted waffle fries.

And then dessert happened.

That would be pizza crust topped with chocolate, hazelnut, banana, marshmallow and peanut butter. You know, just in case you were curious. It was incredible.

We wandered around Philadelphia for a bit to work off some of the massive quantities of chocolate. I was able to get my history geek fill in the form of the Liberty Bell

We made our way back to the hotel, where it was announced thatΒ  a trip to the local gay bar to dance was the in the works. We stayed out until 2 AM dancing and having a blast at Woody’s down the street from the hotel.

Bloggers on the town

Sunday morning was a little rough on all of us after the late night, but we made it to the planned fun run at 8 AM. We ran by the famous LOVE sign (much smaller than I anticipated) and I got to do my Rocky impersonation on the famous steps.

We hit up the breakfast oatmeal bar and then, all too soon it was time to say good-bye to my many new-found friends and head back to DC. Fortunately, the trip back was less eventful and I was able to catch up on some much-needed sleep.

So, to all the HLS attendees, thank you ladies for being so wonderful! It was such a blast getting to know so many of you and I can’t wait to blog-stalk you. Also, if anyone is in need of pictures from the weekend, I have many and I’m happy to share.

I’ll be back later today (I swear!) with a Work It Out Wednesday post. And everyone should get ready for the virtual bake sale to be held in September.

8 Responses to “And That’s When I Failed Epically at Blogging”

  1. Laura August 24, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    It was SO nice to meet you this weekend! Can’t wait to stay in touch over twitter now πŸ™‚

    • feetoffancy August 25, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      It was great to meet you too!! And finally put a face to a twitter handle πŸ™‚ Hope you had a great time in NYC!

  2. Victoria (District Chocoholic) August 24, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    There should be more chocolate restaurants. In general.

    • feetoffancy August 25, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      I’m trying to find a way to convince the Max Brenner people to come to DC so my life can be complete.

      Although, there is this place close to Metro Center called Coco-Sala, which I keep meaning to try but never do. Have you been? Is it worthwhile?

  3. Keelie (SweatEqualsSuccess) August 24, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I FOUND YOU! πŸ™‚ I have a jumping picture of you on my computer! Email me and I’ll send it to you! πŸ™‚

    P.S. Max Brenner’s is my obsession- we have one here in NYC, and we usually DON’T eat dinner and order a small buffet of chocolate. Oh. Yesh.

    • feetoffancy August 25, 2011 at 9:07 am #

      That is too funny! I thought you looked familiar too, but I hadn’t had any coffee yet that morning and brain just wasn’t making the connection.

      I wish we had a Max Brenner’s in DC, although I would probably never eat anywhere else if we did. Chocolate restaurants=heaven.

  4. Erin @ Big Girl Feats August 25, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Yes!! I am stealing that picture of us if you don’t mind. It was SO awesome to meet you in person – I wish we could have spent more time chatting, but I feel like that about almost everyone this weekend! Too little time, so many awesome people. Thanks for the shoutout πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

