Marathon Nightmares

25 Aug

I don’t know if it’s due to recent work stress, or the fact that I am almost exactly 2 months away from running my first marathon, but I’m starting to have nightmares about Marine Corps.

I’m not usually prone to nightmares, in fact I rarely remember my dreams. I’ve never been big into analyzing dreams, and typically the only thing I can focus on in the morning is where the coffee is located.

But lately, I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night terrified out of my mind about this task that I have undertaken.

I’ve had dreams where I show up to the starting line sans shoes and have to run 26.2 miles in barefoot. I’ve had dreams where I show up completely naked and get laughed at by Marines.

I'm just calling my fellow streakers, they'll be here shortly

I’ve had dreams where I’m chased by rabid dogs and zombies and so I have to run a much faster pace than I trained for and I end up blowing up long before I get to the finish line.

Don't worry guys it's just like a tempo run

One night I dreamt that I slept through my alarm, and I missed the race that I have spent months training for. That night, I woke up, leapt out of bed, and sprinted across my room before I realized that a) it was 3 AM and b) it’s still August. I have two more months before Marine Corps.

I’ve never had trouble sleeping before, so I don’t know if this is a side effect of training and completely normal, or if I should be deeply concerened and run to the nearest medical professional before I become completely unhinged.

I’ve experienced plenty of weirdness during marathon training and made plenty of sacrifices. Feet covered in blisters, ice baths, no more drinking on Friday nights, weird looks from colleagues that can’t possibly understand why I would train for a marathon, limbs that swell on long runs, waking up at 5 AM to get my long runs in. So are crazy nightmares and lack of sleep just another thing to adjust to? Is this going to happen in every future training cycle I go through, or is this just something newbies experience?

Questions

Someone please tell me that they’ve gone through something similar, otherwise I’m going to think I’ve gone crazy.

Any advice as to how to deal with my wild and crazy nightmares?

4 Responses to “Marathon Nightmares”

  1. Sarah August 25, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I usually always have dreams that my alarm will never go off and I miss everything!!! Although I usually only have these dreams for the races I am really nervous for. Before my first tri I had so many weird dreams, but only the night before the race.

    You have been training your butt off and will do great in two months!!!

  2. Liz (@RestonStyle) August 25, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Hey!! OMG I am running the Marine Corps Marathon too!! It’ll be my first as well! How are you doing yours? I do Jeff Galloway run/walk and haven’t decided if I am just going to try to finish or if I am going to try to go under 4 hours (which I could do based on my 1/2 marathon time)… Anyway – I am gonna do some really long runs really easy with some friend in the area if you ever wanna come with us! We’re doing 22 miles on September 10th and 29 miles (for our friend’s 29th birthday) on the 24th!

    • feetoffancy August 25, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Oh that’s wild! I’m so, so nervous. My goal is just to finish. I’ve been dealing with a lot of injuries, so as long as I cross the finish line I’ll be happy. If I cross in under 5 hours I’ll be thrilled.

      I’d love to do some runs together, but I am slow. Like old-lady with a walker slow.

      Which half(s) did you do?

  3. Carly D. @ CarlyBananas August 25, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    I’ve had terrible nightmares in the last few weeks. I’m sure they’ll get more over the top before Virginia Beach next weekend.

Leave a Reply

