‘Fess It Up Friday

26 Aug

…is finally back! I’m thrilled to be able to overshare with all you again. I know you’ve all been anxiously awaiting the return Fess It Up Friday, so here we go. And just to a little fun we’ll make this the mostly hurricane edition in honor of Hurricane Irene’s impending arrival.

1) I am extremely pissed off that Hurricane Irene is disrupting my 14-miler this weekend. Seriously? DC never gets hit with hurricanes and then the year I decide to train for a marathon suddenly we’re going to be pounded with the worst hurricane in a generation? And we have an earthquake in the same week?

Let’s get it together mother nature, I’ve got things to do.

2) I’ve never lived through a hurricane before. Or an earthquake for that matter. This is just shaping up to be a week of firsts.

I grew up in Minnesota and have survived more than my fair share of tornadoes, crazy summer thunderstorms, and snowstorms ten times worse than 2010’s Snowpocalypse. But earthquakes and hurricanes? Not-a-one.

3) When the earthquake hit on Tuesday and the building started to shake my first thought was, “Geez, I must really need some more coffee if I feel like the building is shaking.”

4) I am fully prepared for this hurricane with the following: beer, wine, chocolate, cereal, beer, peanut butter, beer, pretzels, rum and beer.

What’s that you say? I might need a flashlight or a hand-cracked radio? No, thank you I think I’ll be just fine with my beer.

5) I am going to be extremely pissed off if we lose power and I am not able to kill time screwing around on Pinterest.

Actually, if we lose power I’m going to be extremely pissed off, period. I can no longer be separated from my electronics for longer than 30 seconds. When we had to evacuate on Tuesday because of the earthquake what did I make sure to take with me? My iPhone. God forbid I should have to go an hour without checking Twitter or updating my Facebook.

6) When I did my 8-miler on Monday night, I started later than expected because traffic was a disaster. I ended up having to do a about 2.5 miles in the dark.

It turns out that at 23 years old I am still terrified of the dark. I was jumping at really loud crickets. There are no streetlights along the W&OD path so it was dark, dark, dark. The bonus? I was booking it those last 2.5 miles.

7) Totally unreleted to hurricanes, but I am a huge time-waster. I will literally spend hours looking up random junk in the internet. Then I spend another hour yelling at myself for wasting time and not doing anything and then I go back to doing nothing.

I should probably never work from home, because I will literally get nothing done.

8) When I was in Philly last weekend for HLS went dancing on Saturday night. My legs are still sore from dancing for so many hours. I may be able to run half-marathons but dance for a few hours? Apparently not.

9) I am crazy excited to go back to Minnesota for Labor Day weekend. Not beacuse I get to see my family and friends (though, I guess you guys are ok), not to hang out with my puppy or chase my little brother around the backyard. No, I get to go spend the day at the Great Minnesotan Get-Together, otherwise known as the State Fair.

Truth

I’m planning to gain roughly 10 pounds in that one day. If you think it can’t be done I’m open to bets. There will be buckets of cookies, walleye on a stick, deep-fried everything, milkshakes made from cows you just milked and of course my personal favorite cheesecurds.

This is what heaven looks like

Plus I can burn it all off by riding down the giant slide.

This is a perfectly legitimate form of exercise

I feel like I should make this an even 10 but I can’t think of anything else right now, so we’re going to leave it at 9. The number 9 doesn’t get enough love anyway.

Questions

Who else is ready to punch this hurricane in the face?

My Ragnar team needs two additional runners: anyone interested?

 
6 Responses to “‘Fess It Up Friday”

  1. Laura August 26, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    This cracked me up! I will definitely punch the hurricane in the face with you!

    • feetoffancy August 30, 2011 at 9:55 am #

      Did you survive the hurricane? How bad was it with you? It just rained and got a little windy here. Big let down.

  2. Sarah August 26, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    I switched my 11 mile long run from sat to this morning. Waking up at 5:15 sucked (so did running in the dark) but at least it’s done. I hope the it’s not raining on Sat morning though so I can still get my bike ride in. This will piss me off if I can’t.

    Mother Nature hates us this week and I hope we don’t lose power!

    • feetoffancy August 30, 2011 at 9:49 am #

      I’m such a baby and refuse to do my long runs before work. It turns out I could have run on Saturday if I had bothered to get myself out of bed, or I could have run on Sunday when it was a beautiful sunny day. But no, I made the worst possible choice.

      Did you lose power?

  3. Michelle August 26, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Oh man, I would love to be on your Ragnar team! Sadly I think I’ll be living on the wrong side of the country at that time.

    Do me a favor, if you see a fried s’more, please devour it for me. They had them at the Ohio State Fair but I just couldn’t bring myself to eat one.

    I’ll be cursing at Irene with you, it is so rude that she disrupt our lives like this.

    • feetoffancy August 30, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      COME BE ON OUR RAGNAR TEAM! It’s the weekend of September 25. We would officially be the most awesome team ever.

      If you can’t be on the Ragnar team, then I am totally coming to visit you on the other coast sometime in the near future. My brother lives in Seattle and I was planning on going out to see him in the spring

      I’m going to the fair with my younger brother which is perfect because the eating system will go something like this: order food, take a bite, pass to younger brother to demolish. I have to budget the food intake carefully at the fair otherwise I end up feeling a wee bit nauseous. A friend and I have also determined that it’s critical to break up the sugar intake with pronto-pups, cheese curds and corn-on-the-cob so you don’t succumb to a sugar-induced stomach-ache too soon.

Leave a Reply

