A Triumphant Return!

25 Oct

Well, look at that. It’s been another month since I blogged. Pathetic. Timing is not one my virtues.

So, last time I blogged, I had just been informed that I was not going to be able to run Marine Corps Marathon unless a miracle occurred. I went from bawling my eyes out about not being able to run, to hurling objects at the wall, to eating a lot of chocolate, to begrudgingly accepting that I would not be able to run, to using cross-training to burn all my extra energy. It wasn’t pretty.

I had finally accepted that MCM was not a realistic possibility and started looking for a spring marathon to train for, BUT, last Wednesday an actual miracle occurred. My sports doctor cleared me to start running and to try for MCM.

I literally have pages of caveats (I can only run 3 days a week, no back-to-back running, I have to run 30 seconds to a minute slower than my usual pace, no time goals for MCM, etc.), but I get to try, I get to try to finish MCM!

I went back to my car and tried to jump up and down in the front seat (not easy, when you’re sitting down). I screamed and yelled and high-fived myself. It was awesome.

So, after my celebration party, the reality of what I was dealing with set-in. On Sunday, I’ll attempt to run my first marathon after having to take 5 weeks off from running. I have never completed a run over 16 miles. The farthest I have run since I was cleared to run is 10 miles. I felt amazing- strong, no pain, etc. But 10 miles is a long way from 26.2 miles.

Several people have expressed concerns that this might not be the best idea and maybe I should wait until the spring to run my first marathon. I know it’s probably not the best idea. I’m a marathon-ing virgin and my training is incomplete. But despite all the doubts, concerns and my own personal fears, I WILL be at the starting line on Sunday morning, and I will do absolutely everything in my power to cross that finish line. If I have to walk fine, if I have to crawl fine, but goddamn it I am absolutely determined to finish that race. I worked my ass off to run Marine Corps Marathon, and now that I’ve been cleared to try for it, I will give this race absolutely everything I have.

If things really start to fall apart, and I have to choose between finishing and re-injuring myself, then I will drop out and take a DNF and try again in the spring, but as long as my shin holds up I’m going to finish this damn race no matter what.

I’m well aware that it’s going to hurt like hell and that it’s going to be a massive mental struggle, but I’m nothing if not stubborn…

This cat has nothing on me

…so I’m hoping that stubborness combined with determination and adrenaline will get me to the finish line on Sunday.

Anyway, if you don’t hear from me again it’s probably safe to assume that I died attempting to complete Marine Corps Marathon.

Don't mind me, I'm just dying over here

If you want to follow my snail’s progress through the course you can sign up for social media alerts here.

I’ll try to post again before Sunday’s race to the death marathon, but otherwise you can expect an ugly post next week about how I can’t feel my legs, and will never, ever to something as stupid as sign up for a marathon again.

One Response to “A Triumphant Return!”

  1. Dawn October 28, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    YAY! I’m so happy for you. I have no doubt that you’ll cross that finish line, even if it takes you forever and you sort of want to lie down on the side of the road and die.

    On the plus side, this’ll make it really easy for you to set a new PR when you run your next one 🙂

Leave a Reply

