Making A Comeback

11 Apr

So… for those few who still occasionally check-in on my little corner of the internet, I haven’t blogged for ages. Like, since before my marathon. Which was months ago. 6 months ago. There were tons of changes going on in my life, new job, new apt, etc (new tattoos, new piercings, becoming a hippie and joining a commune… just kidding!). and blogging just had to take a back seat. Initially, I was only planning to take a break for a week or two. That week or two turned into a month or two and now here we are 6 months down the line. I also took a serious and probably much needed break from running. I didn’t stop completely (are you crazy? Running is my sanity) but I brought my mileage WAY down, and for the first time in a year wasn’t obsessively following a training plan. Instead, I took a a strange, new approach that maybe you’ve heard of called… running when you feel like it. On average I ran 2-3 times a week. I also haven’t raced since Marine Corps Marathon.

At first, I thought something was wrong, and there was a gaping hole where my training plans used to be. But frankly, I was burnt-out after spending the year training for my first race, my first half-marathon (and a few subsequent ones) and my first marathon. The break was much needed mentally and physically.

But my break-up with training plans couldn’t last forever. And lately I’ve felt my eyes drifting to my refrigerator, sizing up the empty space where my training plan used to me. So, I’ve decided a comeback is in order. A comeback to running (more than a few miles 2-3 times a week), a comeback to training plans, and a comeback to blogging. So here’s to what will assuredly hopefully be a successful return to the world!

Leave a Reply

